Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

The Lighthouse

Posted by nliakos on July 2, 2006

by P. D. James, 2006.

A new Adam Dalgleish mystery is a big event!  I found this one on my library’s 7-Day Express shelf, but it actually took me only a little over two days to read it.  Although formulaic (murders in a closed society on a remote island), it is cleverly contrived and leaves the reader guessing until the end.  I had to keep a list of characters to keep everyone straight in my mind.  Cmdr. Dalgleish is assisted by Inspector Kate Miskin and a new police sergeant, Francis Benton-Smith, who is an interesting character in his own right.  P.D. James seems to be unwilling to leave her hero forever alone, so now in her eighties, she has allowed him to fall in love, have a sex life, and propose marriage!  I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Leave a Reply

 
