Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Posted by nliakos on July 8, 2006

by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 1967 (Spanish edition) and 1970 (English Translation by Gregory Rabassa)

With this novel, Garcia Marquez launched magical realism, in which fantastic events are related in a matter-of-fact way.  I have to admit that I did not enjoy the book.  I was confused by the multi-generational characters with similar or identical names.  I found it difficult to empathize with the characters, who seemed like mere caricatures of real people, unlike those in Like Water for Chocolate, another magical realist novel, and for me, a much more enjoyable read.  Most of the characters were either totally selfish or totally selfless; no one seemed like a real human being.  I was disgusted by the wars and killings and unimpressed by the love stories, which seemed to be based mostly on lust.  I don’t generally like novels if I can’t identify with the characters.  Still, I am glad to have finally read it!

Leave a Reply

 
