Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

She’s Come Undone

Posted by nliakos on July 8, 2009

by Wally Lamb.  Pocket Books 1992.

I didn’t much care for this novel about an obese, disagreeable girl who eventually undergoes psychotherapy, loses weight and becomes a good person.  I don’t generally like books about unpleasant characters (think Gone with the Wind), and I didn’t find Dolores’ transformation very convincing.  In the first half of the book, she is really obnoxious, treating people worse than they treat her (which is badly).  Is it supposed to be the psychotherapy that turns her into a kind and generous person?  Or just growing up?  Anyway I finished the book because I liked her better in the second half, but I’ve already forgotten most of it.

Leave a Reply

 
