Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

Reading the OED: One Man, One Year, 21,730 Pages

Posted by nliakos on January 26, 2011

by Ammon Shea

Yes, Ammon Shea actually read the Oxford English Dictionary–all 20 volumes of it. And in 26 delicious chapters, he muses about doing it and lists a few choice entries from each letter. The only word I had ever heard of before was upchuck….. he found some humdingers! I found myself chuckling out loud as I read this on the UM shuttle bus.

2 Responses to “Reading the OED: One Man, One Year, 21,730 Pages”

  1. […] had its own chapter on the making of the greatest dictionary in the world. (Another good one is Reading the OED, by Ammon Shea.)  James Murray, the second editor of the OED, is the professor; the madman is Dr. […]

  2. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already
    😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
