Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

All My Patients Have Tales: Favorite Stories from a Vet’s Practice

Posted by nliakos on August 9, 2011

by Jeff Wells, D.V.M. (St. Martin’s 2006, 2009)

I absolutely adore James Herriot’s All Creatures Great and Small and its sequels, to which it is impossible not to compare Jeff Wells’ book.  There are the same young, inexperienced vet; the same frigid barns and beautiful setting; the same patients, for the most part (dogs, cats, cows, horses–although Wells actually treats a yak for a respiratory infection); the same farmers and pet owners, some judgmental and impossible to please, others grateful and easy to work with; even the same eventual romance leading to marriage. But Wells’ writing, while interesting and often funny, does not measure up to that of Herriot (aka Alf Wight), who makes me laugh until I cry even every time I reread any of his books. Wells just doesn’t write in enough suspense, and his chapter endings kind of trail off.  It’s as if he’s read Herriot, but couldn’t be bothered to really emulate the writing.

This was a quick read (two days), and because I love animals and enjoy reading about medicine of all kinds, I liked it; but it just makes me want to go back and reread Herriot for the umpteenth time.

Leave a Reply

 
