Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

A Hat Full of Sky

Posted by nliakos on September 3, 2011

by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins 2004)

This is my first Discworld series novel and my first Terry Pratchett. I enjoyed it, despite wishing I had started with The Color of Magic, which is the first in the series. (I prefer to read series in order.)  It tells the story of eleven-year-old Tiffany Aching (I wonder: aching, like my head is aching? Or ATCHing? or uhCHING?), going to study witchcraft under the tutelage of Miss Level (a witch who happens to have two bodies), who is invaded by something called a hiver (I kept wanting to pronounce it eeVEHR, like the French word for winter) and must fight for her life, with the help of other witches and a bunch of little blue fairies called the Nac Mac Feegle.  Said like that, it doesn’t sound very good, but I did enjoy it. It was a quick read. I might look for others in the series, but not right away.


6 Responses to “A Hat Full of Sky”

  1. The Tiffany Aching books don’t need to be read with the other Discworld novels, but if you read those that involve the witches (Nanny Ogg, Esme Weatherwax etc etc) you will have a deeper knowledge of their interactions with Tiffany. I’ve been following the Discworld books since 1990 and love them.

  2. Lois Newman said

    This wasn’t a very auspicious introduction to Pratchett. I began at the beginning and do not regret it. I especially recommend the group that features Sam Vimes and his police force in Ankh Morpork.

    • Nina Liakos said

      Actually, I was hoping to do just that but wasn’t sure where to start. I like reading things in the right order and did so with all the Brother Cadfael Chronicles and also Dick Francis. If you give me a title, I will try again.

  3. Sorry for the delay in replying!
    There are a couple of ‘threads’ that run through the Discworld books. One is the incompetent wizard, Rincewind. The others are the witches, the Sam Vimes and his Night Watch, and the Tiffany Aching books.

    If you start at the beginning, be aware that The Colour Of Magic, while it lays down some seminal characters, is quite different in feel from other books in the series – this is a factor of it being first in the story arc and the fact that the story arc developed with what appears to have been a mind of its own!

    If you have enjoyed the Tiffany Aching books, go back to Equal Rites, Wyrd Sisters and Witches Abroad. They will set up all the primary witch characters for you! Lords and Ladies, Maskerade and Carpe Jugulum will round them out and show you the character that ALMOST developed into Tiffany Aching.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: