Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party

Posted by nliakos on September 2, 2012

by Alexander McCall Smith (Pantheon 2011)

I’m a huge fan of Alexander McCall Smith’s No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series. I especially love listening to the audio books, which are deliciously narrated by Lisette Lecat in many different accents. But recently I have had to forego audio books; I commute by bus now, and even if I were driving, the CD player in my car eats CDs. I know I should have figured out how to listen to audio books on my iPod by now, but the one time I successfully installed an audio book from the library on the iPod (Banker to the Poor), I found it inconvenient (difficult to borrow, to install, and to navigate around in), and I have since grown addicted to podcasts anyway. The upshot of all this is that I haven’t been keeping abreast of new developments in Gaborone. Browsing through the mysteries at the public library last week, I discovered an unread book in the series, but as I read it, I discovered to my dismay that I must have missed the previous one as well, because I definitely don’t remember Phuti Radiphuti losing a foot in an accident! Never mind. I kept reading anyway, and will go back to get The Double Comfort Safari Club ASAP.

The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party begins and ends with Mma Ramotswe’s tiny white van (almost a character in the series), and in McCall Smith’s usual style jaunts through several other plotlines, most of which are neatly wrapped up at the end, when Mma Makutsi (finally!) marries Phuti Radiphuti.

Although they are shelved with the mysteries, at least in my library, the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books aren’t like your average whodunit, but you want to keep reading anyway because the human interest factor is so high and because (in my case anyway) the characters are so sympathetic and the dialogue so delectable.

Advanced English language learners should not have trouble reading these books.

One Response to “The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party”

  1. […] Safari Club by Alexander McCall Smith–the prequel to the one I just read and blogged about, The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party.  I discovered that I had to download yet another application in order to do this: OneClickdigital […]

Leave a Reply

 
