Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

The Double Comfort Safari Club

Posted by nliakos on September 9, 2012

by Alexander McCall Smith (Pantheon, 2010/Recorded Books 2010, audiobook narrated by Lisette Lecat)

Success! I managed to borrow this audio book from my public library.  It took a long time and a lot of patience to download the OneClickdigital software I needed to do this, primarily because it took time for things to happen, yet there was no indication that they were, in fact, happening, and no indication when they were completed, either. But I finally got the thing installed and borrowed the book, although I had to go back and search for it from the beginning, which seemed irritatingly unnecessary, and then I couldn’t find it on my computer (it was in the OneClickdigital folder), and when I finally got it loaded onto the iPod I couldn’t find it there, either. It was hiding in the Music folder, rather than in the Books folder, which would have made it so much easier to find, as it would have been the only thing there. Oh, well. I suppose this technology is a work in progress.

In this episode (if I can call a novel an episode), as usual several disparate cases and situations are confronted and finally resolved (perhaps a little too neatly in some cases).  Mma Ramotswe takes Mma Makutsi on a trip to the Okavango Delta in the north of Botswana to find a guide who has been left a legacy by a grateful safari client, and that was interesting because I don’t think McCall Smith had ever written about that (wet) part of Botswana before in the series, and I didn’t know anything about it.  (This was the part where the conflict resolution was a little too pat for my taste. Alexander, are you getting lazy?)

Perhaps the main story line concerns a kind of weird love triangle among Mma Makutsi, her fiancé Phuti Radiphuti, and Phuti’s extremely possessive and neurotic auntie. After Phuti loses his foot in an accident, the aunt tries her best to discourage Mma Makutsi from seeing or communicating with him. Even the redoubtable Mma Ramotswe seems unable to break the aunt’s stranglehold on her nephew. But help finally comes from an unforeseen source, the even more formidable Mma Potokwane, directress of the Orphan Farm.

Lisette Lecat’s reading, as always, is perfect–even to the American accent she assumes for the reading of the letter Mma Ramotswe receives from an American lawyer.

I’ve already borrowed the newest book in the series, The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection, which I happened to see on the New Arrivals shelf when I went to the library to return some other books (but I might still try for the audio book through OneClick…).

Leave a Reply

 
