Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

The Forgotten Affairs of Youth

Posted by nliakos on March 1, 2013

As I noted in my last post on an Isabel Dalhousie book (The Lost Art of Gratitude), I needed to catch up in this series. I’ve since looked for The Charming Quirks of Others on a couple of occasions, but it has never been on the shelf, and I confess I did not place a hold on it. Finally, last week I borrowed this one and the next (latest) one, The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds. I’m pretty obsessive about reading books in order but it just didn’t happen this time, and no reference was made in the book alluding to any momentous event in the last one, so I guess it doesn’t matter.

I started the book on the bus going to work this morning and finished it before dinner. It’s fairly innocuous. Isabel helps a fellow philosopher to find information about her birth parents, and Isabel and Jamie finally tie the knot at the Canongate Kirk in Edinburgh. Isabel makes a killing on the stock market and gives it all away. Charlie, now 2 1/2, still has a taste for olives and now likes mashed sardines. It’s pleasant reading, but forgettable. Still, I read on.

I thought I had blogged about most of the books I’ve read since I started the blog in late 2006, but this series was launched in 2004 (and I didn’t read them right away), yet I find only one previous post.  Here’s a complete list. I’ve read them all except the aforementioned Charming Quirks. And I do like them–though not as much as The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series!

The Sunday Philosophy Club Series

also known as Isabel Dalhousie Mysteries

(From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_mccall_smith)

2 Responses to “The Forgotten Affairs of Youth”

  1. nliakos said

    I read The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds last week. I find I can no longer remember what happened. Of course, this is not necessarily the author’s fault; my failing memory is why I started this blog in the first place. But even as I was reading, I was thinking, well, this is a pleasant read, and I enjoy Isabel’s musings on ethics as I read them, but this is not a gripping story. Then again, McCall Smith’s books are not generally gripping stories, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like them or do not ant to read them. Anyway, returning to Clouds, I do remember something now. Isabel solves the mystery of a stolen work of art (a Poussin). (But I no longer remember who stole it, only who had a motive and the opportunity…). And she and Jamie worry about Grace (the housekeeper) teaching their son math.
    If you like McCall Smith, by all means, you will like this!

  2. […] may remember that I bypassed this seventh novel in the Isabel Dalhousie series to read The Forgotten Affairs of Youth and The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds. I never did find it on the shelf in my library, but a friend […]

Leave a Reply

 
