Nina's Reading Blog

Comments on books I am reading/listening to

Jane Eyre

Posted by nliakos on December 29, 2011

by Charlotte Bronte (eBook)

Of course I have read Jane Eyre several times. I can’t remember when I first read it, but I must have been quite young, probably not yet in college, because after four years of analyzing Russian literature for my BA, I barely touched fiction (other than whodunits) for probably 15 years. I do remember going back periodically to re-read my favorite parts, and I listened to the audiobook a few years ago, startled to discover what a feminist Jane was. Now that I have my Nook, I am taking advantage of the free classics B&N offers, and this was the first I downloaded.

I first read the article about Charlotte Bronte that precedes the novel; that was interesting.  And I took full advantage of the dictionary to look up words I never bothered to look up before, as well as the notes included in the book (problem with the Nook: sometimes the note is not visible on the page, and after “turning” to the following page of notes, it’s not always possible to return to my place in the novel. Then I have to try to remember approximately where I was when I left it to read the note. It’s really annoying!), to better understand some of the archaic vocabulary and literary and Biblical references. I normally never stop to look up words when reading (exception: The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco, which required a dictionary and annotations!), but the Nook makes it easy. Unfortunately, some of the weirder words (e.g. dialect, here and in Precious Bane) are not in the dictionary.  I suppose they would only be found in the OED, and maybe not even there!)

Anyway, I enjoyed every page.  The hideous treatment that Jane received as a child in the Reed household reminded me of Harry Potter’s treatment at the hands of the Dursleys (it’s so exaggerated!). The beginning of the Lowood years are even worse (talk about jumping from the frying pan in to the fire!). When life gets better there, Bronte skips 8-10 years (good treatment being boring, I suppose) until Jane is 19 years old and goes off to seek her fortune at Thornfield.

I think it is kind of hard to believe that no one spilled the beans about Mr. Rochester’s West Indian marriage or the lunatic in the attic. (And how did Grace Poole ever go to sleep in the same room with her? It would seem to be a rather dangerous thing to do.) Also, Mr. Rochester’s pretending to court Blanche Ingram to make Jane jealous seems a bit far-fetched.  Jane’s flight and her reluctance to beg (and the disdain of the townspeople she approached) were quite believable, though.  The character of St. John Rivers seemed almost Asperger-like.  I feel sorry for the “heathens” he went to convert; I am sure he would never take no for an answer! The telepathic “Jane! Jane! Jane!” and Jane’s subsequent return to Thornfield and Mr Rochester (favorite parts) were satisfying as always. I don’t think I will ever get tired of this book!

Leave a comment